Posted in Fandom, Reviews, TV Shows

Review – Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and Chat Noir

okay i know this post is late but it was my grandma’s funeral so


Hi internet people!

Another reason I didn’t post was because I was too busy binge-watching TV shows. One TV show in particular. Maybe you’ve heard of it; it was Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and Chat Noir.

(epic name, no?)

So here’s an unbiased and completely honest (I’m not being sarcastic) review of the show.

Image result for miraculous ladybug flying away gif
this gif has nothing to do with anything but it’s funny

 

Right, so a bit of background on what the show is about: it’s set in Paris (ooh la la!), and the main characters are superheroes. Namely, Ladybug and Chat Noir. (Yes, you read it right. The name of the superhero is Ladybug. Yeah, I don’t know either.) ((Also, in French, Chat Noir means black cat.))

What gives them their powers? Well, for Ladybug, it’s a pair of earrings. And for Chat Noir, it’s a ring. (STOP LAUGHING IT’S NOT FUNNY. Well maybe it is.) When they were the particular accessory, a weird bobblehead creature called a “kwami” appears and that thing gives them their powers.

Image result for tikki and plagg
no prize for guessing which one belongs to ladybug

Okay, so maybe the show is a little childish. But not completely! You see, the catch is that the superheroes have to wear masks, and they can’t tell anyone who they are under that mask. So Ladybug and Chat Noir don’t know who they are, really. (Anyone catch that Mikky Ekko reference?)

Another twist: Chat Noir is kind of sort of in love with Ladybug, but “his lady” doesn’t return his feelings. But when they are in their civilian selves – Marinette and Adrien – Marinette has a huge crush on Adrien. Which he doesn’t return. Yep, it’s a total love square.

Image result for miraculous love square
for reference

So, anyways, that’s enough about the plot. On to the reviewing!

Like I said, it’s a bit childish. And some of the things in the show are completely unrealistic and stupid (LADYBUG AND MARINETTE LOOK LITERALLY THE SAME HOW CAN NO ONE TELL). But it’s not much, and once you can look past that, the show has a good plot – even if there are TWENTY FILLER EPISODES. TWENTY. I mean seriously give us a solid plot line at least

The ships are to die for. Like seriously. There’s the whole love square drama (which is hilarious if you ask me) and then the romance between side characters which is adorable and gives you the feels. The best part? The fandom has no ship wars. Because the members of the love square are the same people. (Yeah, it’s kinda confusing.)

So watch it if you don’t mind childish stuff, or if you’re in the mood for confusing romance, or you have nothing better to do. You probably won’t regret it.

Image result for miraculous ladybug lets go gif
bye for now 🙂

Let's chat

Do you have any TV show that you’re obsessing over? Or do you secretly like something that is childish (don’t worry, I still haven’t outgrown Adventure Time)? Do you LIVE for love squares?? Do you like fluff as much as I do??? Tell me everything.

sign off

P.S: Happy Pride Month! Always be you 🙂  Image result for pride month flag

Author:

Hello, people of the internet! Aris here. I'm just your everyday trashcan who fangirls over everything. I like writing, and might have an unhealthy obsession with Hamilton.

5 thoughts on “Review – Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and Chat Noir

  1. Oml is this the Aris I know?? I had no clue you had such an awesome blog!
    So I’ve never watched this show but I might – the way you described it made it seem pretty cool. I have a friend who’s seen this show, I think – she writes a bunch of fanfiction and draws lots of fanart for it. (Also, question: when you say “Shall we chat” is that a pun on the name “Chat Noir”? Just curious.) And yeah, I LOVE tv shows. So much. Especially animated ones. A few of my favorites are Sherlock, Steven Universe, Adventure Time, and 13 Reasons Why. And you can *never* outgrow Adventure Time, by the way. I’ve never actually seen a love square before, so I wouldn’t know much about that… but I *do* love fluffy ships. Angst is cool and all, but fluff is just so adorable agh.
    ~kestrel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. KATH??? IS THAT YOU??!?? Also thanks 😀
      You should *totally* watch it, it seems like your kinda show. And your friend does fanfiction?? And fanart?? Could you tell me her tumblr/ff/ao3 username i might know her. (YAY YOU GOT THE PUN! I LOVE YOU EVEN MORE NOW!!!) Yes TV shows for liiiiiifeee. I like all the tv shows you just listed (except 13 Reasons Why). And fluff is so adorable?? Like?? It makes me *blush* so much????

      Like

  2. I LOVE MIRACULOUS !! Even though it is a bit fluffy, it’s great and love squares are just agh. To be completely honest reccently I decided to start re-watching Jem and the Holograms (which is pretty great by the way!!) And even though I like only read the angst I live for fluff 25/7. Also great post 100/10. And please scream about love squares, fluff and miraculous with me !!

    HAPPY PRIDE MONTH !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. IKR MIRACULOUS IS AMAZING! Isn’t Jem and the Holograms that TV show about the producer who uses a hologram to become a rock star? I don’t think I’ve seen that show… I’ll try it, though! (rhyme unintended) YES fluff is so adorable and sweet!! And thank you!!! LOVE SQUARES AND FLUFF AND MIRACULOUS ARE ALL AMAZING!!!!

      HAPPY PRIDE MONTH TO YOU TOO!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

