Posted in Reading/Books

Reading Sprees + a bunch of mini reviews

I’d planned something else for this post, but then I went on an internet detox (*LE GASP DRAMATIQUE*) and ended up reading 5 books in two days…


Hello, internet people!

Yeah, you read that right. I went on an internet detox (you, probably: BUT ARIS HOW COULD YOU COMMIT SUCH SACRILEGE???). Calm down, it was only for like three days. And I came back, didn’t I?

But over the course of this detox, I realized that there’s so much I can do while I’m not on the internet! Like read!! :O I may have overdone that though.

Yes, I read five books over the course of two and a half days. It’s not ~that~ much. I guess. I know people who read faster. But I am kind of surprised.

You know how you want to stop reading but you just reached a very important part and just can’t stop?? That was me the whole weekend.

Image result for gifs about reading non stop
#relatable

So, here’s a bunch of mini book reviews – five, to be exact. These are all pretty great books, actually. Recommended.

(Also all book covers link to their Goodreads pages.)

lineImage result for heist society

Heist Society
by Ally Carter

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her on a trip to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.

Soon, Kat’s friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring Kat back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has a good reason: a powerful mobster has been robbed of his priceless art collection and wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat’s father isn’t just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.

For Kat, there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it’s a spectacularly impossible job? She’s got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family’s history–and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way. 

I mentioned this in my previous post as well: how could I not?? To be honest, I was put off by the cover at first (it looks like a cliche supermodel-turned-spy story) (and yes I did judge a book by its cover sorry??), but then one of my friends kept raving about it and I was like sure why not give it a try. So I borrowed it from her and it was so addicting! I loved the way the heists were planned out, and the surprising twists. I’d recommend it to people who like intellectual readings.

line
Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society, #2)

Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2)
by Ally Carter

Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life. Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she’s simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That’s why Kat isn’t surprised when she’s asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners. 

There are only three problems. First, the gem hasn’t been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long, and in Kat’s world, history almost always repeats itself. But it’s the third problem that makes Kat’s crew the most nervous and that is simply… the emerald is cursed.

Kat might be in way over her head, but she’s not going down without a fight. After all she has her best friend—the gorgeous Hale—and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses, realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time.

Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

The sequel to previously mentioned book! This was pretty good, too – the plot twists were very unexpected and shocking – but it just didn’t have the feel of the first book. The heists didn’t seem as exciting as before. But I still liked it a lot 🙂

line

Image result for unwind

Unwind
by Neal Shusterman

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

I don’t usually like dystopia much (I feel like it’s overdone?), but this was really good! Very different from others. The characters weren’t made to be heroes, or given absurd traits: instead, they all had relatable flaws. They also developed and changed a lot over the course of the book. Another thing I liked was that the point of view wasn’t reserved for only the main characters; there were lots of chapters dedicated to minor characters. And the plot twists were completely unpredictable. I loved it! (Also the ship was adorable)

line

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)
Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)
by Ransom Riggs

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

I read the first book – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – and absolutely adored it. So, I was really excited for Hollow City: but the first chapter wasn’t really compelling. It started off very slow, and I was put off by that, at first. But after a while, it ended up being really good, and with lots of plot points. Maybe I didn’t like it because I read the first book a long time back? Anyways, it was still good. Recommended for anyone who’s started with the series. 🙂

line

Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar: Understanding Philosophy Through Jokes

Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar
by Thomas Cathcart and Daniel Klein

Here’s a lively, hilarious, not-so-reverent crash course through the great philosophical traditions, schools, concepts, and thinkers. It’s Philosophy 101 for everyone who knows not to take all this heavy stuff too seriously. Some of the Big Ideas are Existentialism (what do Hegel and Bette Midler have in common?), Philosophy of Language (how to express what its like being stranded on a desert island with Halle Berry), Feminist Philosophy (why, in the end, a man is always a man), and much more. Finally, it all makes sense! 

This was a hilarious, and informative, read! I picked it up on a random whim at the bookstore, not expecting much, but I laughed out loud multiple times throughout the book. It’s not really fiction, or much of a story, but it’s a great book. I always found philosophy an interesting topic, but most of the old texts are hard to understand. This is the book for smart people who want a laugh!

Let's chat

Have you ever been on a reading spree? How was it?? Have you read any of the books on this list? Do you want to? Talk to meeee.

going offline, aris

Author:

hi i'm aris just your everyday trashcan who fangirls over everything • fangirl • book blogger • reader • ravenclaw • indian • ambivert • i try to be cool but fail miserably

13 thoughts on “Reading Sprees + a bunch of mini reviews

  1. OMG FIVE BOOKS IN TWO DAYS??? I just finished a ~380-paged novel in one day and I was proud of THAT. XD Anyways, woo hoo for Heist Society! Yeah the cover’s not so great but everything else is amazing. ❤ And I want to read Unwind! I’m not sure if I’ll get around to it haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WHAT?! 5 BOOKS?!?!?! Ermmmmmm I think my reading spree is like…….. ehhh uhhhh idk………….
    But I managed to finish the thickest Harry Potter book in3 days 🙂 I think.. Great job anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Five books in 2 days is INSANNNEE. I love Ally Carter’s books but haven’t started that series of hers yet. And I read Miss Peregrine’s Home and whilst it was great, I found the ending boring and I’m not sure If I’ll be reading the rest of the book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha I don’t sleep much xD If you get the time, you should totally read Heist Society! It’s worth it. And yeah, lots of people – including me – have said that Miss Peregrine’s is good but *kind of* boring. I would’ve left the series but I had no other books to read lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I have lots of sugar (bad idea for someone with ADHD) so that plays a part in keeping me up… You’re right; I especially loved the pictures of the children. But the ending lacked the creepiness of the beginning.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ok, I’ve been meaning to read miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children but I haven’t gotten a chance yet…
    YAY GOOD FOR YOU 5 BOOKS IN 2 DAYS!
    I finsihed 2 books in one day a few days ago, and that has been my record for August so far. 😛
    Awesome reviews, I hope to read some of these very soon. 😀 Hooray for reading sprees!
    ~Sam https://redheadwithabook.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

